As a warning, the last time I shopped a FA into a Dodger uni, it was Masahiro Tanaka, and we all know how well that ended up. So maybe this time it will work in our favor and Arroyo won’t be a Dodger.  I kid, I kid. Because honestly, I would not be outraged if they did sign him, provided the money and years are fairly low.  From what I hear through the grapevine, Morosi’s report that the Dodgers are talking to Arroyo is true.  Just not as far along as people fear.  He wants 3 yrs and tens of millions of dollars and the Dodgers don’t want to go more than 1 which is the right way to do this. We have the leverage and they should not budge on this. 1 yr with an option of some sort, max! Bronson brings durability (8 yrs of 200 innings….okay 7 and 1 year with 199) but also oldness (he turns 37 this month) and mehness depending on what projection you want to believe.

Sure, Arroyo would be nice.  But lets not pretend like he would be such a huge upgrade over available options.  Their interest in him also makes me a tad worried about Beckett and his recovery from surgery last year.  Maybe things aren’t going as smoothly as we all would like? I hope its just me over thinking things and Ned and Co. just want as much depth as possible to start the season (last year didn’t really fill me with confidence in the notion of having too much pitching). Of course it could also mean that management thinks Beckett is an over cooked turkey long since past his prime. Also not good.

We do have some interesting young options if you feel so inclined to chance it with the youth.  Zack Lee is out there wondering when it will be his time to shine.  You’ve got a reliever pretending to be a starter in Chris Reed. And then there is Ross Stripling who I hear the FO is really high on.  Of course there is Matt Magill who wants you to walk whenever you can (to save the environment of course!) and Stephen Fife who……….does Stephen Fife things.  And then there is Chaz Billingsley who is coming off of Tommy John and should be back mid summer.  Unless he is really needed in the rotation, Im betting he comes back in relief and I hope that Billz sticks in the rotation for 2015 because I still believe in him.

At the end of the day, who knows how this will all shake out.  Arroyo could be great. Arroyo could be awful. Either or.  I have no strong feelings one way or the other if the contract is reasonable.  Beckett is terrible and the youth untested so…….Hooray Arroyo? If nothing else, he gave me something to photoshop. Enjoy.

BRONSON Topps cardDAT LEG KICK!

Bronson was kind enough to pose for this baseball card while wearing the all new Dodger alternate road jersey.

 

